The 3rd Dota Pro Circuit is drawing closer

Only two weeks are left until the start of the new Dota Pro Circuit, which will begin with the qualifier for the first set of tournaments (a Minor and a Major). The exact details of these first two esports tournaments are yet to be announced. All we know is that they’re scheduled for November, while the qualification process takes place between October 5th – 10th.

3rd Dota Pro Circuit 2019-2020

© Valve Corporation

Dota Pro Circuit Format (2019 – 2020)

The 3rd Dota Pro Circuit will borrow the structure of the 2nd one, with slight modifications. It will have a total of 10 tournaments: 5 Minors and 5 Majors. These tournaments will take place in pares and will be preceded by unified qualifiers. I say unified qualifiers because there will no longer be two separate qualification tournaments for each of them. Just one.

One other important change for the new DPC has to do with the qualifiers, which now offer qualification points (370 per event). When compared to Majors (15.000 points), the amount isn’t very significant. But consider the following two things: Minors only offer 660 points. That’s the first. The second one is that last season, the 12th placed team in the DPC, and hence the last directly invited team to The International 2019, had less than 1200 points. So every single point is important.

The schedule of the Dota Pro Circuit for 2019-2020 can be found below:

  • 1st Qualifier Event: October 5th – 10th
  • 1st Minor Tournament: November 7th – 10th
  • 1st Major Tournament: November 16th – 24th
  • 2nd Qualifier Event: December 1st – 6th
  • 2nd Minor Tournament: January 9th – 12th
  • 2nd Major Tournament: January 18th – 26th
  • 3rd Qualifier Event: February 9th – 14th
  • 3rd Minor Tournament: March 5th – 8th
  • 3rd Major Tournament: March 14th – 22nd
  • 4th Qualifier Event: March 29th – April 3rd
  • 4th Minor Tournament: April 23nd – 26th
  • 4th Major Tournament: May 2nd – 10th
  • 5th Qualifier Event: May 17th – 22nd
  • 5th Minor Tournament: June 11th – 14th
  • 5th Major Tournament: June 20th – 28th

Competitive Formats

The competitive formats for the upcoming DPC events will be the following:


Majors will consist of two stages (groups and playoffs) and feature 16 teams, just like last season. For the Group Stage, the teams will be divided into four groups. Out of every group, the top two teams advance to the Upper Bracket while the bottom two advance to the Lower Bracket. All matches are Bo3 at this stage. The format used for this stage is GSL or double-elimination bracket (for every group).

The Main Event is played in a TI format. The first round of Lower Bracket matches consists of Bo1 battles. Every other match is Bo3, with the exception of the Grand Final, which is Bo5. The format for this stage is GSL.


DPC Minors have eight participants and are played in two stages. For the Group Stage, the teams are divided into two groups. Each of these groups will use the double-elimination format. The matches are Bo3. The best two teams from each group advance to the Playoffs, which consist of two Semifinals and the Grand Final.

Comments are closed.