Ten days left to qualify for Heroes of the Storm Horizon Clash

Heroes of the Storm fans prepare for the Western Clash while watching the games played in the HGC Open Division. Asian players have something special coming their way, as the Southeast Asia (SEA) Horizon Clash Season 2 starts on July 28. Registration is open and players have 10 days left to sign up and compete in the qualifiers. There’s money up for grabs, a prestigious title and most important, the chance to play in the 2018 Heroes of the Storm Global Championship Finals.

Horizon Clash online qualifiers start on July 28

As soon as the registration ends the SEA online qualifiers will kick off. They are scheduled to begin on July 28 and four teams will advance to the next stage. The playoffs start the very next day and only the winner will play the decisive match at the Blizzard Arena Taipei. The top teams from Southeast Asia will play against its counterparts from Taiwan, Macau, Japan and Hong Kong. These matches are scheduled to take place on September 1 and the winner will book a place to the 2018 HGC finals.

Horizon Clash Online

Blizzard Entertainment has created two distinct sections for players from Southeast Asia and the other regions. SEA qualifiers promise to be very competitive this year, but the other three regions have top teams. They will also be joined by the ones who advance from the Japan qualifiers and set up the stage for a memorable confrontation in early September.

Horizon Clash structure and format

The second edition of the Horizon Clash is played by slightly different rules. Those who sign up are expected to read them carefully to get a better understanding of the structure and format. There are three distinct stages for the 2018 Heroes of the Storm Global Championship Horizon Clash Season 2, starting with the qualifiers. This phase of the competition is followed by the group stage, while the most successful contenders advance to the playoffs.

trophy Horizon Clash

During the preliminaries, all matches are played in a best-of-three series and four teams qualify for the playoffs. Those who have survived the group stage enter a double elimination format, once again played in a best-of-three. The finals are the only games that are played in a best-of-five format and these are the ones that determine the champion of each region. The winners of the Southeast Asian zone will play in an offline tournament with their counterparts from the other regions.

The decisive matches are played in a best-of-seven series and the finals begin on August 31 and 1 AM CEST. Unfortunately for those who were hoping to see the preliminaries, playoffs and regional finals in real-time, these games are not broadcasted. As mentioned above, preliminaries conclude on July 28, with the playoffs and regional finals taking place in the very next day. The finals will receive the attention they deserve and the fans will be able to watch the games in real-time on Twitch.

Comments are closed.