LoL ARURF 2023 returns this week – Changes, Tier List & More

ARURF is coming back with the start of the new season! Get ready to enjoy the craziest and most fun game mode in League of Legends.

Compared to the normal Ultra Rapid Fire, ARURF is the combination of the normal URF with the ARAM format, where champions are assigned to players randomly.

Besides the two permanent game modes, Summoner’s Rift & ARAM, League of Legends also has a fair share of rotating game modes, one of which is All Random Ultra Rapid Fire. This means that you might not be able to play what you want right away: still, if you manage to get the best URF duos, you’re pretty much going to be guaranteed to have a fun game!

Without further ado, let’s jump right into ARURF 2023.

Image Credits | Riot Games

League ARURF 2023 Release Date

ARURF is set to release with the introduction of the first patch of the new 2023 season, Patch 13.1, which should hit the live servers on Jan. 10th. The game mode is already on the PBE so if you happen to have an account, you can try it out there.

League ARURF will be available throughout the Lunar 2023 event to celebrate Chinese New Year and will end at the exact moment the event ends, on Feb. 14, 2023.

How does ARURF differ from League Summoners’ Rift? 

The map in which games are played is the same for both game modes, but ARURF will assign you a random champion to play. While it may be time-consuming to get your preferred champion, you will in turn get the chance to try new champs in an atypical way.

Image Credits | Riot Games

Compared to last time, there shouldn’t be significant champion changes. However, the new preseason items should still make the game more refreshing since they will be on this year’s ARURF.

These are the buffs and changes applied to the game mode:

  • +300 ability haste, summoner spell haste, and item haste.
  • +25% tenacity.
  • +60 movement speed.
  • Bonus attack speed is multiplied 2x on ranged champions, and 1.5x for melee champions.
  • If you’re a mana champ: Bonus mana and bonus mana regen. are both converted to extra HP (40% rate for bonus mana and 100% rate bonus mana reg.)
  • Mana and Energy consumption reduced by 100%.

Additional changes that were adjusted for the game mode:

  • The highest level cap you can reach in ARURF is level 30.
  •  Smite
    • Charge rate reduced to 30 seconds from 75 seconds.
    • Cooldown between charges reduced to 10 seconds from 15 seconds.
  • Baron Nashor’s first spawn time is at 10 minutes.
  • Dragon’s initial spawn time is on 4 minutes.
  • Teleport is disabled.
  • Early Surrender rework is also applicable


What is League of Legends ARURF?

ARURF stands for “All Random Ultra Rapid Fire” mode in League of Legends. In ARURF, all players are randomly assigned a champion to play, and the game features increased attack speed, reduced cooldowns, and increased gold and experience gain.

How is ARURF different from a normal game?

Aside from randomly assigned heroes and different stats, ARURF games are shorter than normal games as the increased gold and experience gain allows players to reach their late game items and abilities faster.

Tier list of strongest Champions in ARURF

Since the ARURF is essentially the same as regular URF, the strongest champions will be the same for both game modes. Generally speaking, champions that take advantage of ability haste and the lower cooldowns will be much stronger. Champions that hyper-scale and typically good in the late game will also be strong on ARURF.

With the addition of the new items to ARURF, expect Jak’Sho to be a great mythic item for tanks that might be able to make them stronger in the meta, as well as Horizon Focus champion, who will get 15 additional ability power. Aside from these two, the URF tier lists should be fairly identical to the past edition. If you’re looking for the best champions to play in ARURF, here’s a small list of the best ones:

Tier Champions
S-Tier (Must Pick) Shaco, Zed, Blitzcrank, Kai’Sa, Zilean, Fizz, Lux, Veigar, Wukong, Karthus
A-Tier (Good) Jhin, Nami, Kayle, Ahri, Ziggs, Sylas, Jax, Ashe, Seraphine, Heimerdinger, Sona
B-Tier (Average) Teemo, Jinx, Ahri, Anivia, Brand, Caitlyn, Diana, Ezreal, Gwen, Heimerdinger, Irelia, Jayce, Kassadin, Lucian, Lulu, Malphite, Miss Fortune, Neeko, Nidalee, Orianna, Qiyana, Riven, Ryze, Rumble, Samira, Syndra, Vel’Koz, Xerath, Viego, Akshan, Volibear,
C-Tier (OK) Annie, Aatrox, Cassiopeia, Darius, Ekko, Fiora, Fizz, Gangplank, Jhin, Kayn, Kennen, Kha’Zix, Lee Sin, Malzahar, Morgana, Nocturne, Senna, Sivir, Sylas, Varus, Veigar, Yone, Zilean, Zoe, Zyra, GarenCho’Gath, Corki, Gragas, Graves, Fiddlesticks, Karma, Leona, Lillia, Lissandra, Thresh, Viktor
D-Tier Rest of the champions
Read next: Riot Games reveals 2023 champions coming to League of Legends