Looking forward to FIFA’s upcoming eClub World Cup

This month marks one of the most exciting events in sports-based competitive gaming when the FIFA eClub World Cup kicks off. After a gruelling period of online qualification in January, the FIFA eClub World Cup properly begins on 9 February in an intense two-day gaming session. This gives the world’s top FIFA clubs the chance to compete in a global event in the hope of being crowned the FIFA 19 world champions.



The Danish esports organisation, Brondby IF, will be defending their title in the FIFA eClub World Cup 2019, but with 15 other highly ranked teams desperate to steal the crown, it promises to be a fascinating competition.

What is the format of the FIFA eClub World Cup 2019?

We’ve already experienced a frenetic online qualifying campaign that saw a massive number of teams competing to reach the final sixteen. Each team featured an Xbox player and a PlayStation player, and they will have to make their way through the group stages to reach the knock-out rounds.

Each group of the FIFA eClub World Cup includes four teams that have to play three matches, and the top two teams from each group will make their way through to the knock-out stage. There are three knock-out stages that include quarter-finals, semi-finals and the grand final itself.

What do teams get for winning the FIFA eClub World Cup 2019?

It’s not just the prestige of being declared the FIFA eClub World Cup champions that has meant that we’ve seen record numbers of teams entering this tournament. This is because there’s a massive prize pool of $100,000 up for grabs, and the winning team would also pick up those all-important Global Series points in order to qualify for the FIFA eWorld Cup that takes place this summer.

So if an esports team was lucky enough to win this year’s FIFA eClub World Cup, then they would stand to get a very respective $40,000, as well as 1500 Global Series points to help them on their way for summer’s flagship FIFA tournament.

Who are looking good to win the FIFA eClub World Cup?

There is little doubting the fact that Brondby IF are once against looking very strong for picking up the FIFA eClub World Cup. The Danish team have somehow managed to win both editions of the esports tournament before, and it’s thanks to star players like Fatih Ustun, Frederik Fredberg and Marcus Jorgensen that this competition has been such a success.

However, there’s plenty of teams who will be desperate to claim their first FIFA eClub World Cup title. Brondby IF face a tough challenge in Group A, as they have to face two top English esports teams, Manchester City Esports and Wolverhampton Wanderers FC. Keep an eye on Group B where FaZe Clan will be trying to show that they are just as good at sports games as they are traditional esports.

Group C promises to deliver some fascinating matches including one game between the French team, Dijon FCO, and the German esports organisation, VfL Bochum 1848. Plus there will be plenty of intrigue in Group D where AFC Ajax will be keen to show that their esport team can equal the success of their famous footballing side.

A breakthrough moment for FIFA esports

The start of the FIFA eClub World Cup is hugely important as it marks the beginning of what could be a breakthrough year for football-based esports tournaments. We have already seen very promising plans made to set up an ePremier League and the eChampions League, and it’s great to see how FIFA is taking an active role in pushing sports-based esports.

Whilst developments in the FIFA eClub World Cup will provide plenty of intrigues, don’t forget that April 2019 will also see the unveiling of the new FIFA eNations Cup. Although details are still fairly scarce about this hugely promising contest, it’s expected to be an important step on the way up to the FIFA eWorld Cup.

The FIFA eWorld Cup is the pinnacle of the esports competition, and this year it will take place over July and August. Last year saw that Saudi Arabian star, Mosaad Aldossary, claim the world champion title after comprehensively beating the Belgian gamer, Stefano Pinna, in a gripping final.

2019 marks the fifteenth time that this esports tournament has taken place, and it’s expected that the prize pool will top last year’s impressive tally of $400,000. Industry figures will also be hoping that this year’s FIFA eWorld Cup will also break viewing records, with last year’s Grand Final being watched by over 29 million viewers.

But whether you are watching the FIFA eClub World Cup, or are just seeing what happens with the FIFA eNations Cup, it looks to be a very promising few months of esports action.

Read also: FIFA Esports Betting