Hearthstone’s new ranking system is looking good

The popular card game recently received a whole new Hearthstone new ranking system. Blizzard has made a series of changes to Hearthstone – and chief among them is the new Hearthstone ranks and the corresponding ranking system to match.

Hearthstone’s new ranking system

© Hearthstone

New Hearthstone Ladders

In addition to the revamp, a tenth class was added and a whole new expansion was released – the new Ashes of Outland pack immediately made it to the frontpage of the Hearthstone news cycle. As part of the new system, there are now two separate ranked ladders – Standard and Wild.

The Standard format includes cards from all of the expansions that have been released within the last two years. That includes the Hearthstone Demon Hunter initiative set, along with the Classic and Basic sets. If that’s not enough for you, you can always play Wild mode – in that mode, you can play with all cards from any set ever released. Don’t rely on the Demon Hunter set too much though – it has seen several rounds of nerfs since their release almost a month ago. Warrior, Rogue and Hunter have been nerfed – only Shaman and Paladin received some buffs to even the playing field for others.

The new Hearthstone leagues

A total of five leagues now exist, from Bronze to Diamond. Players will have ten ranks within each of the five leagues – and those who move beyond the Diamond one league will now be able to move up further to the Legend tier, which works as previous ranks/leagues did, except it’ll offer some additional challenges for the top players out there.

New players will start in the Apprentice league – a new, lower level, rather than joining straight into ranked play. It has a total of 40 levels that players can work their way through, earning rewards along the way – specifically, Classic packs. You can’t lose your stars while you’re in the Apprentice league, and you also only have to complete it one – you can’t fall back down into it.

There are also some packs from recent expansions up for grab once you make the jump from Apprentice to Bronze. As of the first day of the new season, you will also get some star bonuses based on how you performed in the previous month – you can gain between two and ten stars depending on your rank from before.

Hearthstone’s new ranking system

© Hearthstone

Starry skies

Depending on your star yield, you’ll have a much easier time climbing out of the lower ranks at the beginning of a month because losses affect you less – and if you don’t want to play Ranked at all, you can take a one-month break without any loss of MMR or rank. After that, you’ll see some decay and even an effect on your star bonus.

So, even if you don’t yet have the best Hearthstone decks, you should still play the occasional Ranked match to keep up your rating! In the new Hearthstone ranking system, you may even find it easier to progress up to higher ranks!

Hearthstone Ranked rewards

In the new Hearthstone ranking system, you’ll also get some additional rewards – first-time rewards for reaching ranks and then end-of-season rewards for keeping a certain rank up. These rewards are either entire expansion packs of both Classics and recent expansions or individual rare cards.


These changes are sure to shake up the casual and competitive player scene – right down to esports betting fans that are keen to bet on Hearthstone events. This newest change, the new expansion and the added incentives for players to work their way up are sure to shake things up and draw some new top players in the competitive scene!

Read next: Hearthstone Grandmasters are back!